Some Exploring in Berlin: Hoppegarten and the Botanical Gardens

I have some time on my hands when I’m not motivating myself to be academic or apply for yet another job, so I’ve taken a few trips around Berlin these past few days.

I ride my bike a lot anyway, partially to make up for the fact that I’m not running and partially to avoid public transportation costs. Still, I always end up seeing something really neat, even if I get lost more than I thought possible just by making one wrong turn.

On the other hand, when I set out for a trip on purpose, I can also get a little disappointed.

IMG_1248 (2)

This is my “I rode 20 miles for this?” face

Still, it was worth the ride and I saw a little bit of Berlin outside of Berlin.

Today, I visited Berlin’s Botanical Gardens and saw all the plants gardeners from around the state had brought for the “Stauden Markt.” Stauden are bushes and shrubs, and I would never have thought I would be interested in shrubbery beyond getting past the Knights of Ni in Monty Python and the Holy Grail, but there were a lot of interesting plants being sold, and a lot to see in the garden itself.

IMG_1757I even brought my first lily! It’s tall, bearded, and called “Stairway to Heaven.” I can’t wait for it to bloom… though I guess I’ll have to (and learn how to keep a plant like that alive) until next June.

I’m having a pretty good time so far in Berlin. Then again, I don’t have the stress of school or a job yet. I have my first interview tomorrow, though. Wish me luck!

-Dorothea

p.s. I finish this post just in time to start getting ready to watch Tatort, which is the longest running detective series in Germany and tradition on Sunday nights for many families.

 

 

 

9 comments

  1. I know that disappointed biking face! I’ve had it before too! Excellent Python reference! I am curious to see what a lily called Stairway to Heave looks like. You’ll have to play it some Led Zeppelin 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

