Follow-up: Welps, I guess I expected Germany to win

Despite what I wrote yesterday, until I saw that the US beat Germany 2:0, I think I expected Germany to win.

As expected, it was a tight game. There were a few calls by the referee that people are saying were against Germany’s favor (these “sayings” are especially loud over here), but ignoring the foul that occurred in/outside the box, or the foul that did or did not happen, the U.S. objectively had more shots and more ball possession. They also scored a goal other than the contended penalty kick, which would have been enough to win the game on its own.

So, it’s USA in the finals! It will be interesting to see them play against Japan, the defending World Cup champs or England. I’m neutral about whom I’d like to see. I just want a good game that ends in US victory, obviously.

Hope everyone has a good Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

