PSA: Germany versus US Women’s Soccer Match

or, a short commentary on whom to root for:

See full size imageSince I’m sure you’re all well-informed about women’s soccer, and the fact that the Women’s World Cup is currently being held, I may be overkilling it with this announcement about the match tonight at 0000 BST. I just want to make sure that you’re as pumped about it as I am.

Even if it isn’t a match-up like the Men’s World Cup group qualifiers, where Juergen Klinsman, former German trainer met Jogi Loew, current German trainer, there are enough ties between the teams for tonight’s game to be tense. Just looking at the last names of the U.S. players: Krieger (which ironically means war-maker), Engen, Klingenberg, Naeher, Sauerbrunn, one gets an idea of the historical ties the US players have to Germany. I can imagine there are no mixed feeling amoungst the players about who should win, but I certainly have some.

Growing up in the US, I saw soccer as the only outlet to play a sport that allowed me to play with the guys at lunchtime and have a sort of competitive equality. Girls are quickly outmatched in any other sport. I imagine that basketball has a similar kind of appeal to girls like me, but other than that, sports are pretty separate in the US. Thus, I have a good idea of what it means to be a national player in the US and the stereotypes that go along with being a female soccer player. The US team, therefore, has my sympathies.

However, being in Germany now and having played on a German team, I learned a new way to interact on and off the field and I know how the Germans celebrate when their team wins. I kind of hope they do tonight… and then again, I don’t.

It’s not as though one team is much better than the other, either. The US is currently ranked number 2 in the world, and Germany is ranked first… but that means nothing when it comes down to the 90 minutes on the playing field. It can go either way and I’m just going to try and enjoy the game and be happy either way.

One comment

Leave a Reply

