Cultural Observation of the Day: Spices

Generally, I can find all the spices I would usually find in the US: fennel, cloves, parsley, basil, rosemary, etc. However, one spice (or rather, spice mixture) that I did not think I would find was pumpkin spice. U.S. Americans at the beginning of fall cannot stop talking about their use/consumption of pumpkin spice. People talk about pumpkin pie, pumpkin spice oatmeal, pumpkin spice pancakes, and of course the drink so famous it has its own acronym: the PSL (seriously, I don’t even drink and I know what that is. Don’t make me spell it out for you). It’s uniquely, typically U.S. American, right?

But guess what? (go on, guess… it’s not that hard 😉 )

photo not mine! There exists a spice mixture of clove, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg and allspice… and it’s called Spekulatius Gewuerz-Mischung. The spekulatius cookie, commonly eaten around Christmas-time in Germany, is basically a pumpkin spice cookie with an imprint that can be very elaborate. The cookies are good! But the spice is delightful in many of the ways one uses pumpkin spice in the US. I enjoy it lately in the morning in my oatmeal.

So there you have it! Guess people around the world can agree on what tastes good.

3 comments

  1. Ha!
    I gotta look for an equivalent in Spain. I’ve been looking for it for 5 years already. Not too hard though, when I first looked for it and didn’t find it I asked friends to send it to me lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yep. That option is a good one to have! It’s definitely in Holland and Germany, but I don’t know if the Spanish have that combo a lot. Other spice mixtures found in south Florida wouldn’t be found here, but could be found in Spain, probably.

      Like

Leave a Reply

